A Reconnecting Moment

Life has a funny way of bringing you closer to friends in unexpected ways. In this case, a friend I met during a college exchange program in France and who lives in the mid-west is now seeing someone who lives less than 10 miles away from me!  This friend also vowed never to come to California due to earthquakes, potential gang riots, etc. (Joke is on him!)

On a recent visit, the happy couple stopped by on the way to dinner. G was curious to experience my tea ‘thing’ firsthand, and of course, how could I refuse?

Choosing the tea was surprisingly simple. I wanted a black tea blend – not too overpowering in any way – and an oolong, since I’m in quite the honeymoon phase with this recent discovery. A pot of Tangier (American Tea Room) and a pot of Strawberry Oolong (Naivetea).

As we sat and they told us about the events of this current visit and educated us on the Armenian population in L.A. (they were headed to an Armenian restaurant that night), we drank tea together.

G surprised me by choosing the Strawberry Oolong as his preference, while A chose Tangier. One of many things, they joked, on which they disagree.  As the visit came to a close, I did introduce them to my Tea-Rum-Pa-Pum-Pum, though I went extremely light on the addition of the Cap’n. Everyone agreed that this tea concoction was a good thing.

Old friends, new friends, good conversation, great reconnection.

Add your comment to any of my blog entries & Win Gift Package of 2009 Award Winning Tea from An International Tea Moment! See details at http://wp.me/pv8CX-3x

3 Comments

Filed under Tea

3 responses to “A Reconnecting Moment

  1. A.H.

    Lovely post!

    (I love the blue teapot!).

    • Jen

      Thank you for mentioning the tea pot. It’s the first one I was given. I was graduating high school, and my Aunt Jane gave it to me as a graduation gift. It was she who introduced me to tea rooms, and the whole ‘tea experience.’ She passed away very unexpectedly a few years ago, and I can’t express how much I miss her. I still have that tea pot, though my collection has grown exponentially since then. It is, and always will be, my favorite.

Leave a Reply

