An Edie Tea Moment

It’s impossible to know where to start when it comes to a new blog. Especially when thinking about tea moments. So, I’ll start with the moment that rocked my world most recently, and that is the realization that my baby girl will (hopefully) be my tea moment partner-in-crime for years and years to come. Edie Michelle is going to be a year old in 9 days. It’s been the longest and shortest year of my life, as all moms can probably understand.

There was a day, a couple of months after Edie was born, when I was carrying her down the stairs and Gene made the comment, “Hey, now you’ll always have someone to go to tea with!” Call me crazy, but the thought had never occurred to me. The enormity of what he had just said took a minute to sink in, but once it did, I was absolutely thrilled. Within days, I took her to our first tea outing at the Tea House on Los Rios, in San Juan Capistrano. It’s my favorite tea hang in Southern Orange County. 

There we were, seated at one of my favorite outside tables. She hung out in her bucket seat, watching the trees, flowers and birds for a little while until she went to sleep.  Though she wasn’t much for easy conversation, she was the perfect tea companion. I savored the hour, letting my mind peruse the future possibilities. I think this was the beginning of a beautiful friendship…

 

 

Jen and Edie's First Tea Moment

Jen and Edie's First Tea Moment

2 Comments

Filed under Tea

2 responses to “An Edie Tea Moment

  1. Jennifer

    It’s a beautiful friendship that will last a lifetime!! And these are the best…our babies…

  2. Aunt Margie

    I love it – the site and yes the companion concept! It’s true too. There is just no companion moment the same as a daughter companion moment. I think we’ve only done 1 tea house, while my overall experiences are greater largely due to Cunninghams – for which I am most grateful. I still think of you often when I see tea “things”. I’ll be doing the East Coast this summer. I’ll keep an eye out .

    Love you to pieces. Kiss the little one for me! Aunt Margie

Leave a Reply

